Theory

I wanted to give up.

Love wouldn’t give me a choice.

 

Struck by daylight’s brilliance

gleaming from her eyes,

a magnetic pull bending me

to her will,

 

though she wills not.

 

I wanted to give in.

Love wouldn’t give me a choice.

 

Her sleek, lively hair dives

past mellow shoulders,

held proudly through high and low tides

against us,

 

standing apart.

 

I wanted to concede.

Love wouldn’t give me a choice.

 

Tender lips paint meaning,

desires unseen,

enchanting every desire

within me,

 

ever dreaming.

 

I want to surrender.

Love won’t allow me a choice.

 

Whisked away by her laugh,

her smile a star

filling my emptiness with light

cradling life,

 

yet, we may be.

 

I’m longing to believe.

Love won’t allow me to not.

 

Is this love or lust felt?

Is one truly existing

 

without the other?

Leave a Reply

