My Opinion Is Fact Because Entertainment

This time of year, the end of the year, is when various entertainment websites – the type covering mediums such as movies and video games – put together their lists of the best and the worst of whatever of the year.

I was just now looking through the comments of one such list and, I admit, I was tempted to get involved in the arguments of why The Amazing Spider-Man 2 was actually great or why I agree that it’s one of the worst superhero movies ever made. I was tempted to either defend Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles or be yet another person insulting Megan Fox’s acting in some way that I thought was clever. I was tempted to jump into the fray over Transformers: Age of Extinction and say, “Come on, it’s not that bad,” or, “Please, North Korea, get Paramount to stop letting Michael Bay ruin my childhood.”

I was tempted to share my opinion in a way that made it seem like what I was saying was completely factual, because if you didn’t agree with what I said, that means you’re a dumbass who has no taste in movies and needs to get with the Marvel program because they should be the only studio making movies now because all Marvel movies are the best movies ever.

But then something happened. I read a comment that was above all of this petty bickering. Someone, miraculously, was sitting above the fray. The comment simply read that all of these movies people claimed were bad movies were actually pretty awesome and that we should be thankful for having these movies.

As I read this comment, of course my first reaction was that he was a dumbass who has no taste in movies and needs to get with the Marvel program because they should be the only studio making movies now because all Marvel movies are the best movies ever.

That was my first reaction. My second reaction, after I thought on it for a minute, was that he really makes a great point, especially in light of recent events involving North Korea and a certain movie about a certain interview with a certain North Korean leader.

I watched The Interview yesterday. And what’s funny, besides the movie, is that I didn’t feel patriotic or anything resembling patriotism while I was watching it. I didn’t precede the movie with a ceremonial running of the Stars & Stripes up to the top of a pole with a golden eagle sitting on top, wings spread and eyes glaring out in a ‘make a move and I’ll drop a bomb on you or at least send some drones after you’ sort of way. I didn’t go out and buy a bunch of guns and clean them while the movie was playing. And I didn’t feel like yelling out, “America! Fuck yeah!” at spontaneous intervals during the movie.

What I felt while watching The Interview was exactly what I read in that comment. I was thankful to be watching The Interview. I was appreciative of the fact that I could see a movie that certain people wanted no one to see. In essence, they wanted to ban the movie in the same way that certain people, in the past and currently, wanted and want to ban specific books or specific video games.

I understand that there are people who are going to take offense to something that’s blatantly contrary to what they believe. But the idea that because one (or one group) takes offense, everyone should take offense is just unbelievably ludicrous. Everyone is different and everyone likes and dislikes different things, approves and disapproves of different things. So why shouldn’t those different things be available for those of us who are okay with them? Why shouldn’t people be allowed to like and dislike without the arguing and the insulting and the threatening and the pushing to ban?

I’m thankful that entertainment such as The Interview exists. I’m thankful that Michael Bay is probably going to direct Transformers 5 despite Internet movie fans hating him with such ferocious passion. I appreciate The Amazing Spider-Man 2 and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and other films those same Internet movie fans are so offended by that they make claims of ruined childhoods and insult any and all movie-goers responsible for those films making money. I appreciate the films that movie websites call the worst movies of the year. Even if they’re not completely awesome, they’re not really all that bad. That’s my factual opinion, anyway.

Leave a Reply

