Misunderstood

We feel pain individually.

Why do we turn away?

 

We fear it,

don’t want to feel it

or offer recognition.

 

We drown in it,

let it rule us,

our thoughts, our actions.

 

We hide it

in a dazzling masquerade ball

with only one invitation.

 

We bury it

with spending, eating, drinking;

excess to make us forget.

 

We desire that it leave us alone.

We wish to escape it.

We don’t talk to it.

 

We treat it as if

it’s not a friend

attempting to help us.

 

We treat it as if

it isn’t pointing to a problem,

screaming where attention is needed.

 

We feel pain collectively.

Why do we turn away?

9 thoughts on “Misunderstood

      1. Cool.

        Since you’ve already been nominated, I’ll leave you off my list, but just know that if you weren’t already nominated, I would have totally nominated your blog.

        Thanks again! 🙂

    1. Thank you. 🙂

      By the way, it’s kind of fun to get comments on stuff I’ve written some time ago. You know, because I don’t remember my poems so I have to go back and read them to see what I wrote in the fourth stanza. And that’s really cool. It’s like I’m rediscovering things that I’ve written. So thank you for that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

