Story Of The Sun

One day, the sun awoke, depressed, and so didn’t rise. And the day remained dark and the flowers wept as they remained closed. Throughout the night the wise mountains wondered why they had not seen the sun during the entire day.

The next morning, yet again the sun was depressed and so didn’t rise. And the day remained dark and the flowers wept as they remained closed. Throughout the night the wise mountains became concerned that they had not seen the sun during the entire day.

The next morning, the sun was still depressed and so didn’t rise. The day was dark and the flowers wept, not wanting to open. Concerned, the wise mountains asked God, “What happened to the sun? He has not risen for three days. Is he okay?”

God took a deep breath and then answered, “The sun seems depressed.”

Sad for their friend, the wise mountains asked God, “What shall we do? How can we help?”

With the wave of one hand, God said, “Do not worry, I will handle this.”

The next morning, when the sun once again didn’t rise, God sat beside the depressed sun, placed a gentle hand on his shoulder, and asked, “What is wrong, my sun?”

“What’s so special about me?” the sun asked. “I don’t have beautiful crescents like the moon. I don’t tingle with life like the Earth. I don’t relieve thirst like the water. I don’t give breath like the air. Nothing can be planted in me like the soil. Nothing can make a home of me like the trees.

And my brothers and sisters, the proud and pretty stars, aren’t visible when I’m around. What’s so special about me?

Why should I bother rising in the morning?”

Looking around at the closed flowers, God took a cleansing breath, patted the sun on the back, and joyfully answered, “Sun, you make the flowers smile.”

As the sun thought about this, about how he could always make the flowers open and smile, the sun began to smile, rising and spreading light over the Earth. And the flowers opened and smiled back.

And that is why the sun gets up every morning, without fail, with a smile so bright.

2 thoughts on “Story Of The Sun

    1. It’s cool that you noticed that. The inspiration for this story came from when I took a storytelling class and had to research folktales. I love those stories as they’re very creative and carry certain teachings with them.

      Thanks for reading and commenting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

