Everything Old… Is Still Bad

I’ve recently been on a binge of watching an old TV show from when I was a… I was going to say, “…when I was a child,” but I still consider myself young at heart so let’s just say, “…an old TV show from my earlier childhood years.”

The show I’ve been watching isn’t terribly good either. It wasn’t good back then and it certainly isn’t all that good now. But it’s not good in a fun way, like the people who made it didn’t care at the time that they were producing a cheesy show; all they cared about was producing some form of entertainment that may accidentally hook a viewer or two. And, oh, was I hooked.

This was back in the mid-90’s era of must-watch television like Hercules: The Legendary Journeys starring Kevin Sorbo (the definitive Hercules in my book) and Xena: Warrior Princess starring Lucy Lawless. These were shows that brought a level of tongue-in-cheekiness to the action genre of those days. These were shows with such low budgets that the producers of them knew that if they attempted to make a 100% fully serious action show, it would be laughably bad anyway. So they said, “Frak it,” (I’m guessing they were Battlestar Galactica fans) and made television that was intentionally laughably bad.

The show I’m currently watching again is a little gem called Cleopatra 2525.

Cleopatra 2525 (3)
Yes, this is an actual picture of Cleopatra 2525. And yes, the show was so extra cheese, as you can probably already tell. Cleo is in the middle, by the way.

The show was about a dancer named Cleopatra (her stage name) who wakes up 500 years in the future when machines rule the Earth, mankind lives underground, and three women (now including herself) must fight to take back the surface. Lasting two seasons and a mere 28 episodes (14 episodes per season), Cleo was a half-hour show that ran alongside a Bruce Campbell-infected show, Jack Of All Trades. I didn’t care as much for Jack – except when Verne Troyer (Mini-Me from Austin Powers) showed up as Napoleon Bonaparte – but I never missed an episode of Cleo. And I’m enjoying the show once again, although I did notice an instance in which the music from one episode was changed, likely a licensing issue when the show was transferred to DVD. Unfortunately, the change wasn’t for the better.

The reason I’m writing about this is because, for some strange reason, a voice in my head recently told me to go to YouTube and look up clips from a show I adored. What show did I look up? Team Knight Rider. Now, you’re probably wondering, “What in the ratings hell is Team Knight Rider?”

Team Knight Rider

In short, it was one of the best bad shows this side of David Hasseloff running on a beach in his red trunks to the tune of Jimi Jamison’s “I’m Always Here.” Team Knight Rider didn’t have just one talking car, like the original Hasseloff show it’s based on, it had five talking cars. You know, because… I honestly don’t know why they did that, but it was still fun as hell.

Actually, it was fun as hell… last I remember. I have yet to watch it again. But I will. And that’s what’s got my excitement level up: I found all 22 episodes of its single season on YouTube on the Team Knight Rider channel. I don’t know if it’s official and legal, but I hope it is. How can it not be? I mean, who would want to claim credit for that show. It really was bad.

I can’t wait to see it again! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Everything Old… Is Still Bad

  1. I love the show Cleopatra! I really loved Jack of All Trades; I especially loved his appearances on Xena and Hercules. I liked Xena more than Hercules, but I watched them both faithfully…or as faithfully as I could at an age when the remote was a temporary source of power in a household of 8.

Leave a Reply

