Am I?

Am I the one who finds you in a crowd as if no one else is there?
The one respectfully saying, “Excuse me,” as I pass by you?
The one sitting quietly as we stare out our respective windows, listening to the soundtrack of our worlds?
The one exchanging shy peeks with you as our nervous tendencies forbid us from speaking?

Am I the one trying not to rudely ignore you as you try not to subtly notice me?
The one wrapped around the sexy way you casually twirl your foot when you think I’m watching?
The one to whom the sparkle in your glance nestles into his soul?
The one who blurts out a, “Hi,” with a coy smile?

Am I the one stumbling toward a complete sentence when you sheepishly ask, “How are you?”
The one you playfully swirl a finger in your hair for?
The one holding your interested gaze the more we say to each other?
The one who has lived for this day, for this moment, of being captivated by you?

Am I the one to whom you offer your name?
The one to whom you offer your time?
The one to whom you offer your spry laugh?
The one to whom you offer your endearing smirk?

The one to whom you offer your heart?
The one with whom you engage in a meaningful kiss?
The one with whom you fall into a restful cuddle?
The one with whom you share a home?

Am I the reason you get out of bed?
The reason you look forward to the day?
The reason for your stunning smile?
The reason to shine your brilliant way?

Did you dream of me before we met?
Is that why you shine?
I dreamed of you as well.
That is why I shine.

2 thoughts on “Am I?

Leave a Reply

