Blue

I’d always felt blue,
not who I’m supposed to be.
Like my mother was not
and my brother was not
and neither were anyone
claiming to be what they were
to me.

I’d always felt strange,
not where I’m supposed to be.
Like I belong not here
and I belong not there
and neither fit anywhere
others would so happily
call “home.”

I’d always felt wrong,
not what I’m supposed to be.
Like I should do not this
and I should do not that
and neither take part in
whatever people will do
for joy.

I’d always felt alone,
not how I’m supposed to be.
But that day I met you
and felt you loved me too
I knew all I needed
to change my color from blue
was you.

2 thoughts on “Blue

Leave a Reply

