Two Awards Are A Much Longer Post Than One

So this past Monday morning, for me, began when I jumped onto WordPress and received a notification that I had been nominated for a Starlight Blogger Award. Awesome, right? Well, as I was reading that notification, another one came in informing me of a second nomination for a Liebster Award. I thought that felt pretty cool to be nominated for two awards, so I’m going to attempt to pass that feeling along to someone else.

That’s right. I’m about to nominate a few fellow bloggers for not one, but TWO awards at the SAME TIME! Take that, Oscars!

First, I have to thank kj86chapman from K.J. Chapman for nominating me for the Starlight Blogger Award. Please check out her site and give her some Likes and a Follow. She’s Cornish, so that makes her that much cooler.

Second, I have to thank gypsyess from Wonder Of My Worlds for nominating me for my second Liebster Award. Normally, I wouldn’t participate in a second nomination (one of a specific type of award is enough for me), but all of those pictures she’s been posting lately of her adorable niece Eva has me in the mood to do it. Seriously, you have to see her cutie-pie niece. And then Like and Follow, because how you can say no to that face?

Here are the rules for these awards:

For the Starlight Blogger Award…
–Show off your award by posting the picture of it.
–Thank the person who gave you the nomination.
–Answer the 3 questions given to you.
–Pass on the award to at least six of your fellow bloggers and let them know of it.
–Give your nominees 3 questions to answer.

For the Liebster Award…
–Proudly display the award in your post.
–Thank the person who nominated you for the award.
–Answer the 10 questions given.
–Nominate up to ten of your fellow bloggers and bloggerettes.
–Give your nominees 10 questions to answer.

And here are my answers to the three Starlight Blogger Award questions:

1. What makes you get out of bed in the morning?
When I wake up, something keeps telling me, “Maybe this day will be better.” And so I let myself get up and go through the day and, no, it’s usually not better than the last. But by the time I find that out, it’s time to go to bed again. Then I wake up the next morning and something keeps telling me…

Yeah, I fall for it every time. It’s quite sad.

2. If you had to pick a song title to sum up your life what would it be?
“I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For.”

3. Describe yourself in ten words.
If I tried, I would only come up short.
(See? That was barely nine words.)

And here are my answers to the ten Liebster Award questions:

1. What is your happiest memory?
The evening I participated in a charity workout session at my local YMCA. It was a few days before Halloween a few years back. They were raising money for a youth program and were asking if anyone wanted to take part in the 4-hour marathon. When I started, I wasn’t taking it seriously (like early on when I was doing sprints with a lollipop in my mouth just to make people laugh), but as the first half went by, my body was seriously feeling it. I kept going, though, while other people came in and left at their leisure, especially before and after the sections that included weights.

But I was determined to do the whole 4 hours, and I did. Thankfully, the last half-hour was yoga. Once we got to that, I knew I’d finish. After collecting amazed faces at my having done the whole 4-hour marathon from start to finish (as well as concerned faces for the pale color of my face), I spent the next 75 minutes walking home because the buses were done running for the night… and so was I. That’s why I walked… oh so casually.

2. What makes your world go round?
Nothing really. I feel like the world in that there seems to be something people label “gravity” that keeps me going round despite my not having a desire to do so. Me and the planet Earth have quite the connection, I think. We just keep moving forward without an exact explanation.

3. If you were stuck on an island, what any 3 items would you wish to have with you and why?
I’d want a hammock to sleep on, an alarm clock to wake me up in the morning, and a hammer to smash the hell out of the alarm clock the first time it wakes me up.

4. Oprah or Ellen?
I grew up with Oprah, so it’s gotta be Oprah. And not only because she had the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles on her show that one time, but also because I watched as, year after year, she became the wise woman that she is through the guests who came onto her show. Oprah represents learning, a hunger for knowledge, and the will to seek answers with an open mind. I highly respect that.

I’m not saying Ellen isn’t that way, but Ellen is more of someone who I look to for a laugh. And I highly respect that too. So I love both those ladies.

5. Do you live to eat or eat to live?
That depends on what I’m eating. I can’t usually afford to eat what I really crave so I go with ‘cheap’ and ‘as healthy as possible while cheap.’ In that case, I eat to live. However, there are times when I can treat myself to a restaurant meal and those would be the times that I live to eat. So yes, I do have an appreciation for food, I just don’t get many opportunities to appreciate it beyond simply having it. I guess that helps because when an opportunity does come around, I don’t take a single bite for granted.

6. What culture intrigues you the most?
The human culture; or, the mixture of all cultures as one entity. I like how everything fits together like a puzzle, how different styles of art and cuisine and traditions can sometimes be so similar and sometimes be so different. For example, when I took a World Religions class, I found every religion we studied to be fascinating in the way they explained how the universe and the world and life in general works. I also one time enjoyed watching a Native American dance demonstration. Oh, and when I had satellite TV, I couldn’t stop watching food travel shows on the Food Network and the Travel Channel. I love the ways people from around the world express themselves. It’s all beautiful.

7. Who is your real life hero?
I don’t have one. I don’t carry a traditional view of what we call a hero. I think with the popularity of comic book movies and superheroes these days, we forget that heroes are people who change lives for the better every single day. They’re the teachers who inspire students. They’re the firefighters and medical personnel who save lives. They’re the police officers who don’t shoot unarmed black people. All of these people would be my real life heroes. But I don’t look up to them. I know they’re human and flawed like everyone else. Not overdramatically flawed like comic book heroes, but flawed like regular people, because they are regular people. They’re not celebrities, what we call “stars” as if they’re stars in the sky that we can’t touch. Our heroes are all around us, they’re among us. We can interact with them and thank them for doing what they do for us.

8. What are 3 things on your bucket list?
–See snow.
–Help as many people as I’m supposed to help.
–Don’t die until I fulfill those two things.

9. If you could pick one word to describe yourself… What would it be and why?
The one word would be “Da’fuck?.”

Okay, “Da’fuck?” is technically two words with improperly placed punctuation, but I put them together to make one word… because I can. And that really describes me, the sense of confusion. Seriously, nine out of ten therapists can’t figure me out.

Now, I know what you’re asking. “If nine out of ten therapists can’t figure you out, then doesn’t that mean the tenth figured you out?” No. I was the tenth, attempting self-therapy. Like my other nine therapists, I quit on me, but I gave myself a pass to prove that I can love myself.

10. What made you decide to blog?
I signed up for a Creative Writing class and figured I’d get some practice. So I started a blog and started writing. And I haven’t stopped. I don’t know why.

And here are my three questions for my Starlight Blogger Award nominees:
1. What’s your favorite color combination?
2. Would you ever change your name and, if you did, what would it be?
3. Do you prefer paper books or eBooks and why?

And here are my ten questions for my Liebster Award nominees:
1. Team Edward or Team Jacob? (I will also accept Team Alice.)
2. Do you remember the first book you ever read and, if so, what was it?
3. Do you prefer Apple products or anything that isn’t an Apple product?
4. Colors; what do you think of them?
5. Do you think I can come up with five more questions or will I totally fail even this?
6. What’s your favorite eye color?
7. Do you more enjoy YA or adult fiction?
8. What’s your favorite place in the world?
9. When do you think you’ll realize just how immensely you are loved, or have you already come to this realization?
10. Honestly, how bad were these questions? (I take criticism well.)

To those I’m nominating for both awards, keep in mind that these are simply optional. Please do not feel overwhelmed… unless it’s a good overwhelmed. You can participate in one award of your choice, both awards, or neither, just accepting them and moving on. Again, it’s completely your decision.

So, congratulations to my nominees for both the Starlight Blogger Award and the Liebster Award:

The Stardust Elephant
Letters To Mowgli
Mother Wintermoon
Bella Bounces
Bake & Read
You’ve Been Jaded

Please check out their blogs, Like some posts, and Follow. Trust me, they are well worth it. They’ll make you laugh, they’ll make you cry; they’ll have you wondering why. “Why,” what? I don’t know; I just wanted something to rhyme there.

22 thoughts on “Two Awards Are A Much Longer Post Than One

  1. I loved reading your answers to the questions. Especially since you expressed much of what I feel, but could never express as wittily and brilliantly as you did. I’m so happy you were awarded. It is well-deserved. Thank you bunches for nominating me!! I shall begin to work it all out tomorrow. ❤ MW

  2. Pingback: In The Eyes Of The Beholder | Mother Wintermoon

  3. Thank you for the nomination 🙂 It made my day to be so appreciated! Will work on it right away 🙂 And I loved reading your answers. This is the first time Ive been nominated for an award – thank you again!

  4. I’ve been nominated? That’s so cool! Thank you very muchly! I look forward to the challenge(s) 😀 Now to think of questions as insightful as yours are hehe It’s the first time I’ve done anything like this so thanks for nominating me 🙂

  5. Pingback: Starlight Blogger Award Nomination | Bella Bounces

  6. Pingback: LIEBSTER and STARLIGHT blogger award nominations | Bake & Read

Leave a Reply

