Take

Take your words from me,
your deceptive pledges
restraining me in hope.
I don’t want them anymore.

Take your eyes from me,
your tracking of my life
as if you hold the answers.
I don’t want them anymore.

Take your hands from me,
your illusions of love,
serving neither of us.
I don’t want them anymore.

Take your career goals,
your push for a place in a society
that cares only for your output.
I don’t want them anymore.

Take your dreams of success,
your longing for status
and lifting over others.
I don’t want them anymore.

Take your wishes for prosperity,
your innermost desires
for money and security.
I don’t want them anymore.

Take your romantic gestures,
your hints of devotion
to an imagined carefree frolic.
I don’t want them anymore.

Take your visions of a perfect life,
with a spouse, two-point-five kids,
and your damn white picket fence.
I don’t want them anymore.

Take your future.
Take your past.
Take your present
and take it fast.

I don’t want them anymore.
I don’t want you anymore.

But I don’t want to be left alone
and I don’t want to cry on my own.

I don’t want to sleep in my bed
feeling no one, feeling dead.

I don’t want you,
this much is true.

So what do I want?
An answer to that question.

11 thoughts on “Take

  1. thefeatheredsleep

    And if you find the answer, let me know! It would be impossible to not relate to this. Could you have written the ultimate universal cry?

    1. If I find the answer, I’ll bottle it and sell it. Then after they have the answer too, I’ll give the people their money back, as soon as they realize they just got ripped off.

      I don’t know what that means. Haha.

      I appreciate your comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

