Blueshift

I shut down

walls up
mouth sealed

stare out
everyone moving around me
going where they know

leaves turning in the wind
going nowhere they know
earth slipping in space
going somewhere it can

the motion unsettles me
as only I remain still
only I in all existence
remain still
as everything flutters away

even tears I want to cry
can’t fall can’t slide
as smaller and smaller
it all appears
shrinking
to the size of me

I can only wish
for the comfort of sleep
but every voice in my head
telling me
I should be dead
is aware of the direction
I face

8 thoughts on “Blueshift

    1. In my mind, I’ve only ever gone through rough times, so focusing that on artistic expression is a good way of dealing with it.

      I wrote this poem while on a bus after dropping into a deep depressive state. Something wanted to be expressed so I allowed it to come out.

      Thank you for asking. 🙂

      1. I know what you mean Gabriel, I suffer from depression too and it can be quite painful at times. It’s nice to have a creative outlet to express things though and I think we help each other this way so thanks for posting. Feel better! 🙂

  1. thefeatheredsleep

    This is just lovely. I really Luke the title. Very intricate world wetly offered in honesty. I think you must be pasting your heart in here hence the fervor and power. It’s sad but necessary to suffer for this kind of visceral art.

Leave a Reply

