They Should’ve Called It ‘Hit Men’

This past summer movie season, there were avengers, there were dinosaurs, there were terminators, and there were not so fantastic fours. But I have to say that my favorite movie of the summer wasn’t any of the big hits or the little hits or the expected to be hits. My favorite film this year was one that, after seeing the trailer, I thought would be really bad: Hitman: Agent 47.

I’m not saying it’s the best movie in terms of quality production, but it’s the one movie this year that had the smallest list of things that bothered me about it. And seriously, isn’t that the key element that really makes a movie enjoyable?

Based on the Hitman series of video games, none of which I’ve played by the way, the story revolves around a secret program to create enhanced humans who kill without feeling or remorse. It’s not the deepest of plots, but there was something there that had me enjoying it over other films such as Jurassic World, over Terminator: Genisys, even over The Avengers: Age of Ultron. Okay, so I didn’t see the newest Mission: Impossible, but that’s because I enjoy anything over Tom Cruise. Actually, I really loved Edge of Tomorrow, possibly because Tom Cruise died a lot in it.

Anyway, while the story was pretty okay for what it was, the special effects sometimes left me wondering if they were even finished. But I can forgive that since the movie is an aspiring $100 million film that was made on a $31 million budget. If you think about it from that standpoint, it’s actually pretty astounding what they were able to pull off in the film.

The action set pieces aren’t the biggest or wildest things you’ve ever seen, but they’re enough to satisfy any fan of action. The story has a nice pace to it, with plenty of said action mixed in with just enough downtime to get you ready for the next chase or well-choreographed gun battle or hand-to-hand fight. The best compliment I can pay to this movie is that it never felt dull.

Sure the movie obviously borrows from the first Terminator a slight bit – with Agent 47 early on in the film seeming like a Terminator pursuing a damsel in distress who Zachary Quinto (Second Spock) is trying to protect – and also borrows a piece of dialogue from Watchmen. But these borrows didn’t really bother me much as they fit pretty well with the story as a whole.

And of course, one my favorite aspects of the film is that the aforementioned damsel in distress can seriously take care of herself. Played by Hannah Ware, she becomes so badass in this film and bears more of a resemblance to Linda Hamilton that I feel Emilia Clarke was miscast in the role of Sarah Connor in Terminator: Genisys. While I like Ms. Clarke, Hannah Ware would’ve made a much more convincing Sarah Connor and maybe could’ve helped that movie gain just a touch more credibility.

Unfortunately, Hitman: Agent 47 tanked at the box office. I don’t mean “unfortunately” as in I personally had something to lose, but I mean “unfortunately” in the sense that it really isn’t that bad of a film, certainly not enough to earn an extremely disappointing $8 million opening weekend at the domestic box office, $17 million worldwide. It’s seriously a better film than that and I hope more film fans, especially action movie fans, will give it a look.

Maybe it’s the fact that the movie is based on a video game and video game movies, for now, have a stigma of being terrible movies. Maybe it’s the fact that the previous Hitman movie was a film that generously added to that stigma. I don’t know why this movie didn’t at least earn a respectable amount of money back. What I do know is that there most likely won’t be a sequel to Hitman: Agent 47 and I’m kind of sad about that. I’ll probably never play the video games, I’m just not interested in them, but this movie really made me want to see more of Agent 47.

At the very least, I want to see Hannah Ware in another action movie.

One thought on “They Should’ve Called It ‘Hit Men’

Leave a Reply

