The Last Dragon… And Something Else…

If you’ve never seen a movie called Berry Gordy’s The Last Dragon, then please stop reading this now and go watch it.

Did you see it?

Great!

It’s awesome, right, especially for fans of martial arts films? The movie has a hero you’ll want to cheer for, important life lessons, some nice martial arts action, more black people still living at the end than the first two episodes of Fear the Walking Dead, and a superb soundtrack.

While I love everything about DeBarge’s “Rhythm of the Night,” another favorite of mine from the soundtrack is the title track “The Last Dragon.” Sung by Dwight David, the lyrics to this track read like an inspirational book wrapped up in a much shorter format for people with ADHD. It’s really something that engages me every time I hear it, which is pretty often, and not just because my Chinese astrology symbol is the Dragon, allowing me to stick my chest out proudly and pretend that I am the Last Dragon… even though there are tons of people who have been and will continue to be born in a Year of the Dragon.

Don’t try to figure me out. Even I gave up on that fruitless endeavor long ago.

Anyway, as a convenience for you, below is a video for Dwight David’s “The Last Dragon.” And as an added convenience, below that video are the lyrics to the song so you can read along. But before all of that, you’ll find the video for DeBarge’s “Rhythm of the Night” because it’s such a wonderful song to listen to when you’re feeling down. So what are you waiting for? Click those Play buttons and enjoy.

And what the hell is up with Fear the Walking Dead? Any white characters die yet? No. Only the three black characters… in a row. Even the Hispanic characters are safe… for now. I mean, once the black characters are gone, you know who’s next. Just kill the pimply-faced, white kid already. “Give me back my knife.” You can’t just steal another kitchen knife out of the… kitchen…?


“The Last Dragon”
Dwight David

Take life one day at a time
That’s what a wise man said to me.
He said, “Life, in all it’s complexity
Is the ultimate test for you and me.”

When you walk holding your head up high
For the masters watching you from the sky
I know not what trouble lies ahead
Before you fight, use your head.

It’s time to leave my nest where you were born
This journey you must make alone.
(Spread your wings and fly)
There’s a power deep inside you, an inner strength
You’ll find in time of need.
(The Glow)

Like the seasons, love will come and go
If it’s right, you’ll automatically know.
The world of mystery exists only in your head.
When you become one with yourself
The wall will fall

The journey now before you is the final test
You’ve learned your lesson well.
(I can teach you no more)
There’s a power deep inside you, an inner strength
You’ll find in time of need.
(The Glow)

You are the Last Dragon
You possess the power of the Glow
etc.
etc.
etc.
(This last bit is repeated, like, eleven times.)

3 thoughts on “The Last Dragon… And Something Else…

    1. Not too long ago, I had a conversation with a bus driver about how much we each enjoy the music in The Last Dragon. The driver was playing the radio and “Rhythm of the Night” came on. I made some sort of comment about it and that’s what started our conversation.

Leave a Reply

