Forsake

I don’t need a Lord, I yearn for a friend.
Be within reach, not cloaked in mystery.
Why must you break me when shadows can bend?

Spare me miracles, promises descend.
Save the tricks for hungry masses deceived.
I don’t need a Lord, I yearn for a friend.

Some come to your aid, who do you defend?
Hollow burdens stain the path to reprieve.
Why must you break me when shadows can bend?

I don’t bear your cross, refuse to contend.
Why must I beg to rid sins you conceive?
I don’t need a Lord, I yearn for a friend.

My soulless fiber lacks will to pretend.
Forsake my faith as you did my belief.
Why must you break me when shadows can bend?

On your word, I’m not inclined to depend.
This shattered wraith, don’t bother to retrieve.
Why must you break me when shadows can bend?
I don’t need a Lord, I yearn for a friend.

5 thoughts on “Forsake

    1. I don’t know about that. Back when I lived on Elm Street, even Freddy Krueger wouldn’t visit me. He was always, like, “Nah, bro, I can’t haunt you tonight. I have that 12:30am with the Johnson kid. He’s a total brat, but I’ll fix that! Did you catch my rhyme there? I’m a better writer than you! Hahahaha!”

      Maybe if I at least faked being scared of him, he would’ve wanted to hang out? But anyway, yeah, that’s my story and I won’t stick to it if you bribe me with a Krispy Kreme doughnut.

      Freddy Krueger can write better than me. Damn, that’s kind of sad…

      1. thefeatheredsleep

        Not close to being true. You are a really talented writer! And you crack me up!♡ eek nightmare on elm street! Creepy!

Leave a Reply

