Unfit

You are you, I am me.
There you are being free.
But how can I be?
With no place free?
How can I, where I am,
being me?

In nowhere I fit.
The places I want,
the hardest places to be.
It’s those who reach,
those who overreach,
who aren’t on the same track.

I am alone.
If you say I’m not alone,
that I have you,
then I feel more alone,
because it’s then that I know
you don’t understand me.

How can anyone understand?
How can anyone love me
when I can’t love myself?
How can I love myself
when no one can love me?
Will the circle be unbroken?

Unloved.
Unlovable.
Unfit.
Unloved.
Unlovable.
Unfit.

Unloved.
Unlovable.
Unfit.

Unloved.

Unlovable.

Unfit.

5 thoughts on “Unfit

  1. This is very profound. Many of us, particularly in our younger years, have felt the perplexing of what your words say in this poem.

    What you say here:

    “I am alone.
    If you say I’m not alone,
    that I have you,
    then I feel more alone,
    because it’s then that I know
    you don’t understand me.”

    Is very perceptive and experience provides examples of where it is true.
    Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

