Reflections (Jesus In A Tootsie Roll)

I saw myself in a reflection,
with different hair and clothes
and a natural glow
as nature crawled
in my eyes.

I saw Jesus in a Tootsie Roll
and thought I was going crazy
until he said, “Eat me,”
and I ate him
and I grew.

I saw an angel in the mirror
who wished he was Satan
so as to no more feel
regret or guilt
or shame.

I saw Satan in the mirror
wishing to again be an angel
if only to once again
know feelings
of sorrow.

I saw Jesus in a Tootsie Roll
and thought nothing of it,
saying, “That’s funny,”
and I ate him
and wanted more.

I saw myself in a reflection,
losing sanity and gaining sanity
as the tree appeared
when I opened up
the door.

Leave a Reply

