Contrasting Aways

It all goes away when I open my eyes,
the smiles, the laughter,
the way my touch excites your every fiber.

It all goes away when I close my eyes,
the loneliness, the fears,
the tin man who’s incapable of love.

It all goes away when I open my eyes,
the tenderness, the care,
the wanting in your deep fixation on me.

It all goes away when I close my eyes,
the dark, the seclusion,
the wringing desire for no tomorrow.

It all goes away when I open my eyes,
the closeness, the contact,
the intimate “I love you” on your sweet exhale.

It all goes away when I close my eyes,
the need, the never-found,
the callous wounds each fantasy has inflicted.

Leave a Reply

