Getting The Feels

As you may know, unless you’re just completely uninterested – I wouldn’t blame you if you are – I’ve been working on my second novel, the first of which is still unpublished.

Anyway, for the past week or so, right after finishing Chapter 12, I immediately became stuck. I had no idea how I was going to start Chapter 13 or even what was going to be in it. In fact, I debated moving onto Chapter 14 and coming back to Chapter 13 later, as I was getting some ideas for Chapter 14. However, I decided to wait.

Days went by with little to no writing getting done and that was okay. It happens. Some days I get a little, some days I get a lot, some days I get nothing at all, and whatever I get is okay. That’s what works for me. I don’t push word counts. I don’t push through writer’s block. I like writer’s block; it gives me an excuse to not do shit. But again, that’s what works for me and what works is different for different writers. As the saying goes, there’s no right way to write.

For me, however, I’m not on a schedule and I’m not about to put myself on one. My second book – and the entire trilogy, for that matter – will be done when it’s done and it’s not a big deal to me if I die before it’s done. I guess we can call that a George R.R. Martin attitude.

Anyway, on Sunday, while I was cleaning, I began getting an idea for how Chapter 13 would start. After that, I felt in a flow of knowing how the first scene would lead to the next scene and then the next scene, etc. I call it ‘getting the feels.’

Okay, I only started calling it that since Sunday when I was coming up with a cool title for this post. But it sounds good, right?

‘Getting the feels’ is that emotional pull toward the flow of the story you’re writing. In the past, I would’ve said that I was ‘in the zone,’ but that phrase is so cliché now. In fact, I think any phrase that was used all the way back in White Men Can’t Jump can be considered cliché now. Time for something new, right?

On a side note, speaking of ‘the feels,’ I just saw the Pixar film Inside Out last night and I have to say that it’s a brilliantly written piece of art. Whenever I see a work such as Inside Out, I can’t help but to think two things:

1 – That movie should win the Academy Award for Best Picture.

2 – I can’t write for shit.

And please don’t tell me that I can write; I don’t like to keep illusions over myself. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not going to stop writing my novels, but when I see something as extraordinary as Inside Out, it just makes me think of how lacking my writing is and how little talent I actually possess.

Yes, I’m still going to take a shot at selling my writings. I mean, if there’s room for Fifty Shades of Grey, there’s certainly room for the crap I can churn out. Not everything has to be Lord of the freakin’ Rings. If my work ends up appealing to people, then it ends up appealing to people. If not, then no big deal. I’m not trying to be famous or anything. Hell, I’m not even trying to make money. I’m just doing what I’m doing because I have ‘the feels’ to do it. And there’s nothing more to it than that.

4 thoughts on “Getting The Feels

Leave a Reply

