Act As If…

“In improvisational acting, there’s this great rule that I’ve used in my life, which is ‘act as if.’ Act as if this is completely normal. Of course I’m supposed to be interviewing Barak Obama or of course I’m supposed to be playing guitar with Bruce Springsteen, and, of course, there’s a big part of you inside that’s saying, ‘What are you talking about? This doesn’t feel completely real. It doesn’t feel completely real to me.’”
– Conan O’Brien

I love love love this Conan O’Brien quote. It’s incredibly empowering to ‘act as if,’ and I can tell you from experience that it can help to bring you out of a negative attitude, into a more positive one. Act as if you’re okay, even if there’s a huge part of you screaming that you’re not. What you may find is that the hand you’re looking to reach down and pull you out of that pit you’ve fallen into is your own hand, is a small sliver of you that has decided to do nothing more than ‘act as if’ you can pull yourself up, you can dry your own tears, and you can keep moving forward.

If there’s a challenge you’re facing and you doubt that you can overcome it, act as if you can.

7 thoughts on “Act As If…

  1. Hey Gabriel,
    Your timing, seriously. I was panicking a few minutes ago because I have another residency interview soon and two other students from my school are interviewing that same day. The “act as if” strategy puts things into perspective. I needed that 🙂

Leave a Reply

