Not Mine

You are not mine,
you are your own.

You are not my princess
and I’m not your prince.
There is no one whom you serve.

I don’t want you to submit to me
because a book told you it was right.
I don’t want you to obey me,
but rather choose love at every sight.

You bow before no one
but before you
I will take a knee,
and still, you are not mine.

You are not my queen
and I’m not your king.
There is no one who owns you.

And yet, every step I journey
desires yours alongside mine.
When I walk, my thoughts
walk with you.

When I dream, my dreams
are only of you.
When I write, I write terribly,
but I embarrass myself for you.

And yet, you are not mine,
you are your own.

You are not a damsel in distress.

You are an individual
with your own views and ways.
You have so much to offer;
a smile, a laugh, a glittering gaze,

likes and dislikes I want to know,
an opinion I value to hear,
a unique perspective on life,
a caring energy that pulls me near.

Without you, I have nothing,
but without me,
you have everything,
including my heart

as it whispers:

“Please don’t be in love
with someone else.
Please don’t have somebody
waiting on you.”

If I could stop caring
I would, but
I suppose
forgetting you isn’t possible.

4 thoughts on “Not Mine

Leave a Reply

