Would You Rather…

Because I’ve been tagged by the lovely Jasmine Carlisle, and because we’re in the same Camp NaNoWriMo cabin, which means that she knows exactly where to find me for the purpose of giving me a total earful if I don’t participate, I am taking part in this “Would You Rather…” tag.

If there’s anyone reading this (all two of you) who wishes to take part in this tag by answering the questions below, feel free to do so. The questions are actually quite fun and can inspire some insightfulness, as you’ll probably be able to tell from my answers. At the very least, you’ll have an opportunity to go on a Batman v Superman rant prior to the release of the film. Enjoy.

Would you rather: Drop your favorite book in the toilet or wood chipper?
Wood chipper. Sure, the book will get destroyed, but considering what’s been in the toilet, that book is destroyed anyway, and I at least don’t have to pick it out of the wood chipper.

Write an autobiography or never be able to add aspects of yourself into your other writing?
The latter, but only because my memory is so terrible that I couldn’t write an autobiography. I mean, I just had Spring Break last week and I don’t remember it. …and I don’t drink. …or use drugs. There’s no reason why I shouldn’t be able to recall Spring Break, but I don’t. It’s like I’m consistently abducted by aliens and have one long string of ‘missing time.’ Unfortunately, given my answer, I can’t add that aspect of myself into my other writing.

Read only the first page of a book or only the last page?
Only the first page. If I only read the last page, I’ll have no context of who anyone is, who else was in the book, or why I should care how it ended. But if I only read the first page, I could start from there and make up the rest on my own. 😉

Write your next book with no music of any kind or with a soundtrack that’s not even closely related to your content?
I’m going to cheat on this one. While I wouldn’t have music playing, when I’m writing I do play music in my head, like I’m hearing the score in the movie of the book.

Have the ending of a book spoiled or not ever know what happens?
Not ever know. I can deal with mystery; like I said in another answer, I can make shit up. But if I have something spoiled, then I lose the special connection I could’ve had with it. That’s why I’m not interested in going to see Batman v Superman, at least, not since the second trailer revealing Doomsday came out. That totally spoiled how the Batman versus Superman fight is going to end. Seriously, that’s the frickin’ title of the frickin’ movie and they completely spoiled it. Ugh.

Okay, rant over. I’m breathing. I’m calm…

Read your writings to an audience of ten people who love you or to 10,000 people you don’t know?
Love me? People don’t even like me, so I’ll have to go with 10,000 people I don’t know. At least they’re still neutral about me.

Only be able to read ebooks or physical books?
Physical books don’t contribute to eye strain (not for me anyway), so I have to go with physical. But ebooks save trees, so I like ebooks.

Actually, the components to make the devices capable of displaying ebooks probably harm the environment too. Okay, if we’re screwed either way, physical books win!

Only be able to write series or stand-alones?
That depends on the protagonist. If I love spending time with the protagonist, then of course I want to write a series starring that protagonist. That said, a good stand-alone can be a powerful thing, you know, like Jurassic Park and The Matrix. Those two are amazing stand-alones. And there are no sequels. None. Really. I’m not just telling myself that.

Loan your book to a careless friend or throw it off a building?
I barely tolerate careless people (maybe that’s why I don’t have friends) so I would totally throw a book off a building. There would likely be less damage upon impact anyway.

Have to dog ear your pages or never remember your place in the book?
My OCD would rather forget where I left off, and I’ve actually done this many times. Rather than put even a tiny fold line on even a single page, I’ve hunted through a book to find the last sentence I read.

Write a really famous book but never write a one hit again or write several great books loved by a smaller audience?
I’d prefer one big hit that I can keep making money from through licensing and merchandising rights and re-releases long after its initial release.

Spend a bunch of time developing characters and wing everything else or the same but with plot?
For me, the characters drive the plot. Every time I’ve plotted out a story, my characters have changed the way it goes, which is why I stopped plotting and now only know as much as my characters tell me. But I don’t develop characters, I don’t tell them who they are. They tell me what they want to say and do and how they react and then I take credit for developing them.

Have to read your least favorite book monthly or never be able to read your favorite book again?
Never be able to read my favorite book again. I can still remember it (hopefully), and even if I don’t, I can remember the feelings of excitement and thrill when reading it for the first time. Sometimes, I wish I went this route with stuff I enjoyed while growing up. For example, I recently watched Mighty Morphin Power Rangers: The Movie for the first time in a long time and couldn’t stop cringing at how completely awful it is. I wish I’d left it a memory of something I enjoyed to no end.

Write a book without using conjunctions or have every sentence of your book begin with one?
They both would be a nice challenge, but I think it’d be fun to write a book with every sentence beginning with a conjunction. That’s at least something that’s so noticeable that it could potentially annoy people.

Would you rather be famous during your writing career or famous post-mortem (or after death)?
During. What’s the point of post-mortem fame? ‘Congratulations, you’re famous. You’re dead… but people know you now and they know you’re dead.’ I think I’d rather someone know that I’m alive so they can tell me how bad I screwed up the book I’m famous for with their continual harassment of me on my various social media accounts. Oh, and if I’m famous for a series I haven’t finished, I would love for people to keep pushing me to finish the series before I die.

6 thoughts on “Would You Rather…

  1. Haha, this was great! I’ve tagged you in almost everything and you do about a fifth of it so I’d just assume that you forgot or didn’t see it just to make myself think you actually like me. It’s okay if you don’t like me, though. (Actually it’s not and you should like me because I’m a great person. :P)

    I’m pretty sure we only had two of the same answers which shows how completely different we are. It was still fun to see how you responded to them!

    Thanks for participating! 🙂

  2. BUT… If you drop a book in the toilet before you’ve used it, the water is just clean tap water. So technically you can still save the book. 😉
    I think would much rather have a wet book than shredded one… Though it would make great confetti.

Leave a Reply

