It Sounds Good, Sure

Sometimes, when browsing around social media sites, I see people posting quotes that sound like reasonable nuggets of wisdom to hold onto. And that’s cool, there’s nothing wrong with that.

But me being the type to not accept anything I read at face value, of course, I have to think about these nuggets of wisdom, especially if my ninja intuition tells me that something feels amiss about a certain quote. After reading a number of quotes that I could throw out a nice counter-argument to, I’ve finally reached a point now in which I want to do exactly that. Heck, maybe I’ll start a series in which I respond to a quote I see somewhere, you know, if I don’t get lazy and simply not do it.

Anyway, here’s a quote I saw recently:

waiting4inspiration

And my response to that is:
Exactly. I don’t write to force my story, I write to serve it. I’m the waiter and my story is the customer telling me what to write. When I don’t have a customer, I don’t have anything to write. But when I do have customers…

And that makes sense, no? I mean, the above-pictured quote sounds good, but it assumes that all writers write the same way, which is simply untrue. Everyone writes differently, and no, I don’t believe in the two categories of plotter or pantser (I recently began to call myself a “puzzler.”). That’s like saying there are only two genders, male and female. We all have our own differences, however little or large, so of course we, as writers, have different ways of writing.

This is why when someone asks how to snap out of writer’s block, I can only offer suggestions that work for me. But my strategy for combating writer’s block – which isn’t as much combating as it is cowering in a corner until it gets bored and goes away – may not work for someone else, and that’s okay. If someone else’s strategy for pushing through writer’s block is to keep writing until they push through it, that’s fine. What works for one person may not work for another, or maybe it will.

That’s the cool thing about writing, or any art for that matter: there’s no one way, or right way, to do it. You simply do what feels right for you. And if what feels right for you is waiting for your muse to wake the hell up and give you something already, then that is what’s right for you, even if a nice-sounding quote tries to tell you different. 😉

3 thoughts on “It Sounds Good, Sure

  1. I can so relate to this. I write daily reminder quotes yet mine are more self reminders and it just so happens they work for others yet honestly it’s just my thoughts and what I’m dealing with at that moment. I don’t prewrite anything cause I don’t sit at home over thinking lol… Great post, so true and made me giggle 😊😊😊

Leave a Reply

