“Love” Is Forbidden

How easy to be offended
by a word holding little meaning
from the lips of anyone.
How difficult to believe
in a word abused and so unfelt
in the heart of anyone.

I won’t say the word I feel
for how can either of us know,
truly know?
No, I won’t say that word.

I will place your favorite flower
in your hair and step back
and marvel at beauty on beauty,
but I won’t say that word.

I will pay every attention I have,
hold a stare, my soul playing in waves
shifting the ocean in your eyes,
but I won’t say that word.

I will lay my soul beside yours
as our connection stems beyond
the tactile, into the real unreal,
but I won’t say that word.

I will stay my soul beside yours
and each second show you promises
kept simply, simply by keeping them,
but I won’t say that word.

No, I won’t say it,
only know
that either of us can only truly know
as my caring whispers to your heart.

If so offended we are by a word
with no more meaning left in it,
then forever shall it vanish,
forever shall it no longer exist,
replaced with what we do
to fill spirits crying empty no more.

11 thoughts on ““Love” Is Forbidden

    1. I’m glad you loved it. When I wrote it, I was thinking of something you said to me not too long ago in one of our brief conversations. So you could say that this one was inspired by you. 🙂

      1. thefeatheredsleep

        Then I shall elevate from love to sublime, that’s a huge compliment to think our conversation would have inspired you but then, the same is true of me my friend I feel your thoughts influencing my writing after we talk too. I hope you are doing okay xoxoxo

      2. Isn’t that amazing, how someone a certain distance from you can have such an influence, as if they were right there with you? Then again, physical concepts such as space and time don’t apply to the soul, or two souls that can transcend location as easily as drawing a breath. So maybe it’s not so surprising. 😉

        I hope you’re doing well, too.

      3. thefeatheredsleep

        I used to think in terms of physical proximity but I agree with you. One thing I have learned is you can see a person every day and be less close to someone you hardly ever see and that is the worst type of relationship and I think quite a few people experience that unwittingly

      4. Agreed!

        I don’t know what else to say. You said it all. Usually, when that happens, I’ll just reply with a smiley to show my appreciation for your comment. It’s like a symbol for knowing that all I can do, all I want to do, is sit back and smile at you and hope I’m not creeping you out. Haha. 🙂

Leave a Reply

