One Lie

One lie tells me
everything I need to know
about you.

One lie
and I don’t want to talk.
One lie
is all it takes to turn me.
One lie
is just one lie too many.

You may think one lie
will spare my feelings,
but my feelings are wrecked
by the pain I feel
knowing I’m not worth
a not as difficult truth.

Truth may sting for a bit
but one lie
can open a wound
or reopen a wound
and leave scars,
never forgotten.

You may think one lie
is not a big deal,
but the big deal you don’t see
are lies piled inward, lies
that are the prickly pieces
of my black shattered heart.

How can I know caring?
How can I know love
when all I know
are lies I’m told
as if that’s caring,
as if that’s love?

If you just trust me with truth,
then I promise to be elated
as I figure out my feelings
and make my decisions,
clear of your bullshit,
accidental or otherwise.

One lie
and we’re done.
One lie,
no exceptions.
One lie
is all I can’t take anymore.

One lie tells me
everything I need to know
about you.

But it’s not hate I feel,
it’s sorrow,
as I’m afraid
I’ll never know
where to find
an end to all the lies.

If everyone lies,
then who do I turn to
for truth?

Leave a Reply

