Not An Antonym For Straight

I’m told that I’m gay
because it’s my choice.
If it’s my choice to be gay,
then can it be your choice
to not be mean to me,
to not condemn what you admit
you don’t understand,
and allow me to live
as I am to live?

I’m told that I’m gay
only because it feels good.
But I ask you,
does it feel good to be judged?
Does it feel good to be called
an abomination,
to be told that God loves me
but hates what I do,
as if what we do
is not who we are?

How can you say, as if they
are equal,
that being gay is a sin
and to murder is a sin?
Not allowing me to be me,
depriving me of a life
I wish to live,
is that not also
a form of murder?

You wield your book and belief
as if I’m the one
who needs to change
for my betterment,
for the betterment of all,
but how do I harm you?
You cannot say.
But I can tell you
that what you say and do,
who you are, harms me.

You say I need to be free
of my sins,
but if God is love
and I have love,
then I have God
and I am free.
It isn’t God who chains
my soul, it is you
refusing to let it go.

I’m not who I am
because I made a choice
to welcome discrimination.
I’m not who I am
because it feels good,
but because it feels right.
Do you not do the same?
Would you love your God
if it felt wrong?
Would you lie to yourself?

3 thoughts on “Not An Antonym For Straight

Leave a Reply

