Untitled Dual Styles

Quick story: a couple of days ago, I read a poem by K on The Darkest Fairytale called Hollow Reality… This poem really gripped me and inspired me to write my own poem. I sent it to K and she rewrote it in her own style for a bit of fun. I thought it was great, so I figured I’d post both poems here so you can see the similarities and differences of the two poems.

Remember, while you’re reading, that this isn’t a competition, this isn’t about which poem is better. This is simply about differences and being accepting of those differences even as you’re aware of them. ‘Cause, seriously, don’t you think we need more of that in this world: acceptance rather than dominance? They each exist just as they are, and that is a marvelous thing. 🙂

To K, thank you for inspiring and creating magnificence of your very own. 😉

My poem (please read Hollow Reality… first):

I wasn’t broken
in shadows,
but in light,
and by light,
and by those
who dance
in the light,
and dance,
dance,
dance me away
into darkness.
For their spins
and long,
wavy dresses
ebb and flow
to the music
they prefer,
the tunes
I can’t dance
to, or bear to
hear,
hear,
hear under
a bright
moonlight
that fails to incite
the madness
from me,
from where
my heart
once laid bare,
and then laid caged,
and now lays
nowhere at all.
It is darkness
that is nowhere.
It is nowhere
I don’t seek
for I have given up
and now lay
in nowhere,
darkness,
as a single point
of light
shines on me.
I want it to leave me
but I want it to stay.
The light is me.
The light is day
I cannot even wish
to find.
I am an empty room.

The same poem, but with K giving it her own stylish spin:

I wasn’t broken
in shadows,
but the light
Had it’s way,
Of shining
through,
The cracks
In my eyes
And the holes
In my heart,
and by cracks
I mean those,
who dance
in the light,
and dance,
In the dark,
And dance
To my beating
Shattered
Heart.
Driving me
into the darkness.
For their spins
Their evil ways
And
Devilish grins,
Their long,
wavy dresses
ebb and flow
to the music
they prefer,
the tunes
I can’t dance to
Or no longer
Bare.
Thundering down
under
a bright
moonlight
that fails to incite
the madness
from me,
But drives me
To the place
my heart
Lays naked,
It lays
Bare.
Then I’m caged,
From their
Lightening,
Of harrowing
Bolts,
now i lay
Under their
Skies,
In the middle of
Darkness
In the middle of
Madness
nowhere to found.
It’s the dark
Emptiness
that is nowhere.
& nowhere became
My home.
It is nowhere
I don’t seek
for now i lay
Alone.
As a single point
of light
Shines on me.
I want it
to leave me
but I want it to stay.
The light is me.
The light is
A new day.

5 thoughts on “Untitled Dual Styles

  1. Pingback: Untitled Dual Styles | The darkest fairytale

Leave a Reply

