Sunshine All Around

Sunshine Blogger Award

I know I’ve said before that I don’t do awards anymore, and I kind of did this one last month, but once I was informed by the lovely Anaida of anaidawrites that I had been nominated, I felt like I could take this opportunity to share the title of a book that helped me at a seriously low point in my life; you know, because spreading sunshine isn’t something I do very well on my own, at least, not typically in my poetry. The book is:

Robin Meade - Morning Sunshine! paperback

You can see by the title how I made that connection between that book and the Sunshine Blogger Award. I fully suggest picking up that book and giving it a read. You can find it on Amazon.com very cheap. Like, seriously cheap. Like, you’re almost stealing it cheap. But you’re not stealing it, and that’s a good thing. You will, however, get some useful life lessons out of it, told by its author, Robin Meade. In fact, if you’d like to read an excerpt from the book, then click here.

Anyway, now that we’re past that bit of promotion, here is my part of this award:

First, I’m not going to nominate anyone, but will instead simply invite anyone who wishes to participate to feel free to do so. Second, if you choose to participate, you can answer the same questions posed to me by Anaida. If you only want to answer the below questions for yourself, that’s just fine. If you want to make a whole post about it for your blog, go for it. You’re also welcome to answer the questions in the comments section of this post. However you want to do it is up to you.

1. What’s the best and worst advice you’ve ever gotten?
I’ve probably answered this question before, and in a different way, but this is how I’m going to answer this question today: I don’t think I can tell you that any one piece of advice I’ve gotten can be considered “the best.” Everything I know now comes from many things I’ve heard, practiced, and experienced. Everything I know now comes from discovering what does and doesn’t work for me. Everything I know now comes from every mistake I’ve made, every error I’ve admitted to (and didn’t admit to), and even the smallest things I’ve learned from those mistakes and errors. And everything I know now, I know, is not everything to know as there is so much that I don’t know. This is why I not only learn from my mistakes, but also observe other people, look at their mistakes, and learn from them. There’s always something you can learn, not only from yourself, but from others as well, and everything you learn is good and useful and shouldn’t be ranked in terms of what one thing you learned was “the best.” It’s all come together to make you who you are today.

That said, even when I’ve gotten bad advice, I’ve learned from it. Like I said, my mistakes and errors – even ones made by the advice of others – taught me something of value. So even the worst advice I’ve gotten has value, which means that I’m glad I got that terrible advice.

2. If you could choose to change one thing in this world, what would it be?
There would be so many problems in this world solved simply by removing the human tendency toward greed.

3. What’s your life’s mantra?
Be aware of who you are in this moment, and refuse to judge who you are as either good or bad.

That is all for this post. Thank you again, Anaida! Be sure to check out her blog.

Leave a Reply

