The Only Moth Unattracted To Flame

Their heads remain straight,
eyes forward,
buried in the business
on their tiny screens
capable of holding greater
attention, greater
than the vastly greater
world.
What did I do wrong?
No.
Nothing.
Nothing that I know of.
Is the person on the other side
of the screen
doing something right,
more right than me?
Why can I not be
on the other side
of the screen?
Why must I be invisible?
Why must I wait?
Why must I be trapped
in the space all around them?
Why must I feel
as if
I walk in a dream,
the only one awake?

There must be a reason
I must be alone.

2 thoughts on “The Only Moth Unattracted To Flame

Leave a Reply

