No, Darth Vader, Now The Circle Is Complete

After four years of work, yesterday, I completed the first draft of my third book, the last in the trilogy.

No applause? Okay, I’ll keep going.

Anyway, I can’t really say that I feel a monstrous sense of relief or that I feel any different. I mean, yeah, I snagged a Pizza Hut pizza (pepperoni and olives with a totally yummy honey barbeque drizzle) and had a nice salad, a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, and a helping of cherry cordial ice cream on the side while watching one of my favorite movies, Battle: Los Angeles (hey, when I party, I really party), but other than the constant prayer to any god who would listen to my pleas of holding back my inevitable tummy ache (so worth it, by the way), I simply didn’t feel anything that I would describe as “different.”

Maybe it’s because I feel like I still have a lot of work ahead of me. First of all, I have to look back at the synopses that I wrote and make any needed changes to them so that they accurately reflect the contents of my novels. I know the third novel went on a kind of different track than what I was predicting when I originally wrote the synopsis for it. Secondly, I want to get to revising each of my books, especially the first one, as I’ve learned so much more about writing since I finished it a couple of years ago. That’s going to be a huge task considering that my three novels total out to just a smidgen over 276,000 words. Finally, I’d like to begin sending out query letters, preferably after the first book has been revised, so I can see about attracting an agent to my work.

That’s the plan anyway, and we all know how plans go, don’t we? That’s why I tend to stick with my protagonist’s super-duper-simple, two-step plan for tackling anything – Step one: Start shit. Step two: See what happens.

I guess we’ll see what happens. 🙂

6 thoughts on “No, Darth Vader, Now The Circle Is Complete

  1. ~loud applause~ Yay!!! Good for you!! Did you write the three books in those four years, or only the last one? ‘Cause it took me four or so years to finish 1 book. ~laughs to conceal tears, hahaha~

    Anywho, I look forward to future information about your novel. And I expect signed editions (I’ll pay for the books, of course). 😎

      1. Thank you for the applause. I appreciate it. 🙂

        Yes, I wrote the entire trilogy in four years. But hey, if it took you four years to write one book, that’s fine. As I was saying to myself throughout the whole writing process (I felt like I was taking forever to write these things), it takes as long as it takes. Besides, the more time you put into it, the more you become familiar with your characters, and believe me, that can make a huge difference. There are changes I made to the first book while writing the third book simply because I knew my characters a bit better. You could say that’s an advantage of not publishing even the first book until the trilogy is finished.

        Also, do you really think I would make you pay for my books? Whenever I can get them published, I’ll be glad to send them to you for free. It’s probably going to take a good while, though, possibly another four years. Haha! But hey, it’ll take as long as it takes. 🙂

      2. Thank you for these words; I’m grateful, and I think you gave me the exact encouragement I needed. 🙂 ❤ Writing is harder than people (even us) realize; the first draft can be quite a crawl, but revisions are an entire project as well! It will be interesting for you to see what happens in stage 2 of authorhood. I wish you only the best. As an aspiring author myself, I want to want to support your books. Maybe when the time comes, we'll figure something else out, like a free book for a review. We'll make a secret deal that the reviews will only be positive though, mwahaha. xD

      3. Haha! Sounds good! 🙂

        Actually, I wouldn’t want someone to say something positive about my work just because they know me. I think people are more doing me a favor when they’re honest with me, even if what they say is negative.

        Anyway, if you’re ever having any trouble with your first draft writing crawl, feel free to go to my Contact page and talk to me about it. You can bounce ideas off of me, and I’ll see if I can help you to keep moving forward in your writing. That’s the most important thing: don’t stop writing. If you need to take a small break from it, do that, but never stop writing. As long as you’re making progress, even if it’s slow, you’re still moving forward. Good luck! 🙂

      4. Hahaha, I was joking! 😄 I don’t think paid positive reviews aren’t fair to buyers. Positive constructive critism is best, I believe. I’ll definitely be honest. 😊❤

        Thank you, I really appreciate that! You’ve given me fresh motivation to write! Good luck to you, and you may always bounce ideas off of me too (I think my contact page is currently hidden, but I’ll get it up).

Leave a Reply

