The Leaves Don’t Need The Wind

The leaves don’t need the wind
and yet the wind is what moves them.
So what I am without you
is what I was with you
and I will be
from now on.

It doesn’t matter much
where I’m going;
what matters
is where I am,
yet where I am
is where you place me
among your frozen clouds.

How can you not be moved
by my cries?
How can you not be moved
by my pleas?
How can you not be moved
by my tears
as they fill bottomless crevices
in lonesome seas?

How can you be indifferent
to me
while proudly proclaiming
to love?

Truly, I don’t need you,
but you move me
as I seem to fail
to move you.

Or do I?

Truly, what holds me together
now
is a desire to rob you of the joy
of witnessing my breakdown.

2 thoughts on “The Leaves Don’t Need The Wind

  1. “The leaves don’t need the wind
    and yet the wind is what moves them.”
    I like what you are trying to express here. I also like your questions. Take care 🙂

Leave a Reply

